The European Society
of Human Genetics

Mendel Lecturers

Mendel Lecturers

Since 2006 the European Human Genetics Conference closes with the lecture of a distinguished speaker.

In 2009 this lecture was officially named "Mendel Lecture" and a prize symbolising a guilded wrinkled pea, in reference to Gregor Mendel's research, is awarded to the lecturer. The prize was designed by Swedish geneticist Alicia Bergsten.

ESHG Mendel Lecturers

2018Emanuelle Charpentier
2017George M. Church
2016Sir Adrian P. Bird
2015Thomas Südhof, Nobel Laureate 2013
2014Mario Capecchi, Nobel Laureate 2007
2013Huda Zoghbi
2012Evan Eichler
2011Elizabeth H. Blackburn, Nobel Laureate 2009
2010Mary Claire King
2009Sir John Burn
2008Leroy Hood
2007 Aaron J. Ciechanover, Nobel Laureate 2004
2006Sydney Brenner, Nobel Laureate 2002